Successful hand pollination -seeds forming


Last year I was given a plant of a new show pansy seedling named James Wallace after the raiser’s son.

A few weeks ago I hand pollinated it with one of my own raising named after my wife Marion,(second attachment)

The middle of the pot, first attachment, shows the green seed pod swelling.

The time taken from crossing to removal has this year been as short as 21 days on a James Wallace Tom cross made .

I suspect the pollen currently (July 13th 2013) now would be no good as it will be fried a little like myself and I suspect many other viola growers living in the south of England.. Phew!!!!!

Leave a Reply

